Ceiba floods

I can’t find screen-printing materials anywhere. I went to La Ceiba, the third largest city and most important tourist port in Honduras. The first day I decided to chill out with the Spaniards, a couple of artists from Barcelona who speak Spanish and Catalan, and are working in a community in the tip of Honduras. We went to a Garifuna community (Corasal) and walked on the beach for the most part of that cold, cloudy morning. In the afternoon we rode the bus back to Ceiba smelling of salt, fish and mangoes and with the legs of our pants still wet with sea water. The next day I woke up determined to be as productive as possible considering I am on caribbean coastal time. But it rained torrentially all day, eventhough its supposed to be summer. I had to walk from small store to small store asking where I could find the materials I need. There are no artist supply stores. I went to some printing places and asked for help but they thought I was a spy, and refused to tell me their secret sources and contacts. I walked downtown. La Ceiba’s century old drainage systems couldn’t drink all the rain, and the streets were completely flooded. I waked in knee-deep waters that were clear at first, then collected dirt from fruit markets, apothecary corners and cars. And I still couldn’t find screen-printing materials. On the way back home I got a lift from a man who knows the entire history of the Banana Republics and he recited the imperialistic story from beginning to end, without breathing, pausing only to remember exact names and dates.

Leave a Reply

